Graduate Student Honors and Awards

Business Communication Leadership Award
This award recognizes the outstanding graduating student in the Master of Science in Business Communication program, as determined by a vote of the graduate faculty in Business Communication. This award represents the highest honor and recognition bestowed upon a graduate of the master's program.

J. Jerome Fargen Award for Educational Excellence
This award, named after a former professor and director of the graduate programs, is presented to a graduate of the Master of Arts in Education program who demonstrates personal and professional integrity, as well as success in one or more of the following areas: scholastic achievement, community service, and educational accomplishments.

Jillian Johnson Award
This award recognizes the outstanding graduating Master in Social Work student. The recipient shall have demonstrated an excellent academic record and the potential for significant contributions to the social work profession, with a particular commitment to the areas of social justice and public social services. The award is named for Jillian Johnson, former chair of the School of Social Work.

Mother Catharine Spalding, SCN, Nursing Leadership Award
Named in honor of Mother Catharine Spalding, SCN, co-founder of the Sisters of Charity of Nazareth, this award honors a graduate of the Master of Science in Nursing program who has affirmed human dignity and inspired creativity and vision in nursing leadership.

Occupational Therapy Accountability Award
This award is given to the graduating occupational therapy student who exemplifies the school's model of personal and professional accountability. This award represents the highest honor and recognition bestowed upon a graduate of the master's program.

Vickie Bohannon Owsley Advanced Practice Nursing Award
This award recognizes a graduate of the Master of Science in Nursing program who has demonstrated caring and competence in advanced practice nursing as exemplified in the life of Vickie Bohannon Owsley, D.S.N., A.R.N.P., a graduate of the School of Nursing.

Caring With Dignity Graduate Award
This award was established by the faculty of the School of Nursing to recognize the commitment to the principles of human dignity, ethics, and caring in nursing, which was the hallmark of the tenure of Brother Ignatius Perkins, OP, D.N.Sc., M.A.Ed., R.N., K.H.S., F.A.A.N., former chair of the School of Nursing and Dean of the College of Health and Natural Sciences.

Eileen Egan, SCN, Graduate Student Award
This award, established in 2007, is named in honor of Dr. Eileen Egan, SCN, who served as the president of Spalding University for 25 years, from 1969 to 1994. She was instrumental in the development of many of our graduate programs, and, ultimately, the University's designation as a doctoral/research university.

The criterion for this award includes completions of a final project that, through integration of scholarship and service to the community, exemplifies the mission of Spalding University.

Psi Chi
Spalding University is affiliated with Psi Chi, the National Honor Society in Psychology. The society is open to both undergraduate students who are in the upper 15 percent of their class and graduate students who maintain a minimum of B in their course work.

Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing
Sigma Theta Tau, the International Honor Society of Nursing through the University's local chapter, Iota Gamma, recognizes superior achievement, encourages leadership development, fosters high nursing standards, stimulates creative and scholarly endeavors in the professional practice of nursing, and strengthens commitment to the ideals and purposes of the profession. Membership is an honor granted to students in baccalaureate and graduate nursing programs who have demonstrated excellence in their performance.

Eligibility criteria for nomination to membership: undergraduate students must have completed one-half of the nursing curriculum, rank in the upper 35 percent of their class, and have at least a 3.00 grade point average; graduate students must have an earned BSN, completed at least one-fourth of required graduate nursing credits, earned a grade point average significantly higher than the minimum requirements for graduation (ordinarily 3.5), and demonstrated leadership potential.

MSW Faculty Learner as Teacher Award
Recognizes a student who has contributed to an exceptional level to the learning environment.

Transformational Learner Award
For outstanding investment in the educational process and demonstrated growth consistent with the values of the Social Work profession.

Jillian and Knowlton Johnson Scholarship Fund Award
This Scholarship was established in 2000 through a generous donation from Dr. Jillian Johnson, Retired School of Social Work Chair and Founding Director of the MSW program, and Dr. Knowlton Johnson, an internationally established Senior Researcher. The award recipient is selected based on an outstanding Culminating Project of an MSW student that pursues research as it applies to social issues for policy-making that benefits or furthers human well-being.